Explore series

W.E.B. Du Bois Papers

Series 13. Plays, 1928-1940, n.d.

2 boxes (0.83 linear feet)

MS 312


W.E.B. Du Bois, 1907

W.E.B. Du Bois, 1907

The first, Playthings of the Night, was intended for book publication in 1931, and contains introductory essays by Du Bois and various drafts of five plays. The second group, The Darker Wisdom, was intended for book publication in 1940, and contains manuscripts of four of the five plays in the previously proposed title (one with a changed title). The plays included are The All Mother (later entitled The Slave, the Serf, and the Blond Beast); Black Hercules at the Forks of the Road; Black Man; Christ on the Andes; and Seven Up. An outline for The Prodigal Race, an unidentified fragment of a play or tale, and variant title pages or subtitles are also included.

The manuscripts of plays are in two groups.